Kota Marudu Member of Parliament

Federal cabinet not peninsula govt – Abdul Rahman

KOTA KINABALU: The federal Cabinet is a cabinet for all and not merely a ‘kerajaan semenanjung’ (peninsula government) as claimed by some quarters.

This is because there are 12 ministers, six each from Sabah and Sarawak in the cabinet as full ministers, as pointed out by Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan.

“We feel and share the Sabah for Sabahan sentiments of some and we understand their consideration to protect Sabah and its people’s interest but I want to stress that there are six ministers from Sabah.

“The federal cabinet does not belong to Peninsular Malaysia and I can guarantee that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak always lends an ear to what we, the ministers from Sabah and Sarawak, have to say,” he said.

Speaking to reporters after officiating at the Sungai Damit bridge project ground breaking ceremony in Tuaran yesterday, the Kota Belud member of parliament disclosed that there have been a few cabinet papers which were not passed because the Sabah and Sarawak ministers protested to these.

The Prime Minister postponed the decision on these papers (and) this had never happened before, he pointed out.

Abdul Rahman said that the six Sabah ministers, namely, Datuk Seri Anifah Aman (Foreign Minister), Datuk Seri Panglima Wilfred Madius Tangau (Science, Technology and Innovation Minister), Tan Sri Joseph Kurup (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department), Datuk Seri Salleh Said (Communication and Multimedia Minister), Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Ongkili (Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister) and himself would give their opinions without fear or favour on cabinet papers that involved the interest of Sabahans.

“The Prime Minister will listen to all the views of Sabahans, who are represented by six ministers as their voice. I can guarantee you that no government decisions on matters that involve the interest of Sabahans are made without being discussed and debated by the six of us,” he stressed.

“So don’t assume that the federal government is a ‘peninsular government’… it is a Malaysian government where Sabah and Sarawak have big voices in determining the country’s development halatuju.

“We are there… we will defend every rights and interests of Sabahans without fear or favour that goes without saying,” Abdul Rahman added.

Source : theborneopost